Wednesday March 17th 2010, 10:40 am
T For Texas: A When You Awake Mixtape
Filed under: Mixtapes,Original Mixtape Series | Posted by:


This latest When You Awake mixtape is dedicated to the great state of Texas in honor of my trip to Austin this afternoon for SXSW. With the exception of Mr. Bobby Bare (an Ohioan by birth), this mix features some of my favorite sons (and daughter) of the Lone Star State playing their very distinctive brand of Texas-fried rock and roll. Part Two, with Freddy Fender, Townes Van Zandt, Guy Clark, Ernest Tubb, Roky Erickson and more will be coming soon. Oh, and in the words of my favorite tv show Friday Night Lights, “Texas Forever”! Mixtape is after the jump.

T For Texas: A When You Awake Mixtape:

1. Bobby Bare- Goin’ Back To Texas (One More Horses Ass)
2. Waylon Jennings- I’m A Ramblin’ Man
3. Willie Nelson- Whiskey River
4. Buck Owens- Foolin’ Around
5. Amos Milburn- Chicken Shack Boogie
6. Sam The Sham & The Pharaohs- Wooly Bully
7. Roy Head- Treat Her Right
8. Bobby Fuller Four- I Fought The Law
9. Buddy Holly- Oh Boy!
10. Texas Tornadoes- Who Were You Thinking Of?
11. George Jones (with George Pitney)- I’ve Got Five Dollars And It’s Saturday Night
12. Roger Miller- Chug-A-Lug
13. Roy Orbison- Dream Baby
14. Lydia Mendoza- Mal Hombre

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Lovin that list.

Comment by countryfucker 03.17.10 @ 12:07 pm

Leave a comment